Myanmar, formerly known as Burma, is the Land of Human Origin. It is also recognized by the world as the Golden Land. Myanmar is a diamond-shaped country extending 925km (575 miles) from east to west and 2100km (1300 miles) from north to south. It is bounded by China, Laos and Thailand in the east, by Bangladesh and India in the north and by the Indian Ocean in the west and south. The Irrawaddy River runs through the center of the country and fans out to form a delta on the south coast; Yangon stands beside one of its many mouths. North of the delta lies the Irrawaddy basin and central Myanmar, which is protected by a horseshoe of mountains rising to over 3000m (10,000ft), creating profound climatic effects. To the west are the Arakan, Chin and Naga mountains and the Patkai Hills; the Kachin Hills are to the north; to the east lies the Shan Plateau, which extends to the Tenasserim coastal ranges. Intensive irrigated farming is practiced throughout central Myanmar, and fruit, vegetables and citrus crops thrive on the Shan Plateau, but much of the land and mountains are covered by subtropical forest.


Capital Naypyidaw 19°45'N 96°12'E
Largest city Yangon
Official languages Myanmar (Burmese)
Government Military junta
Chairman, SPDC Sr. Gen. Than Shwe
Prime Minister Gen. Soe Win
Independence - Declared: 4 January 1948
- From the United Kingdom
Area - Total: 676,578 km² (40th)261,227 sq mi
- Water: (%) 3.06%
Population - July 2005 estimate: 50,519,0001 (24th)
- 1983 census : 33,234,000
- Density: 75/km² (119th)193/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2005 estimate - Total: $93.77 billion (59th)
- Per capita: $1,691 (150th)
HDI (2003) 0.581 (medium) (130th)
Currency kyat (K) (mmK)
Time zone UTC+6.30
TLD .mm
Calling code + 95


Vietnam Flight Bookings banner

Vietnam Visa Bookings

Supports Online from DNQ TRAVEL